15th Annual Tribute to Tourism Awards Gala – registration open!

Tourism Westman is proud to announce the 15th Annual Tribute to Tourism Awards Gala. This special evening will recognize and celebrate the exceptional individuals, businesses, organizations and communities within the Westman region that have made significant contributions to tourism development and promotion over the past year.

Awards will be given in six categories; Aspiring Youth, Event of the Year, Marketing Excellence, Partnership, Service Excellence and Volunteer of the Year. In addition to the regional recognition, all winners will be nominated for the chance to advance to the Manitoba Tourism Awards for a chance to be recognized at a Provincial level.

26 nominations have been submitted for the 2018 Awards from communities including; Brandon, Carberry, Deloraine, Shoal Lake, Minnedosa, Neepawa, Ninette, Gladstone and Virden.

Nominees are as follows:

Aspiring Youth:

Jordyn Griffin, Shoal Lake
Rayna Topham, Minnedosa
Shay Sandy, Carberry

Event of the Year:

Brandon Cruise Nights
Camp Hughes Heritage Day, Carberry
Food Truck Warz, Brandon
Grim Acres Scare Away Cancer, Brandon
Neepawa Street Party
Westman Multicultural Festival, Brandon
Royal Canadian Legion National Youth Track & Field Championships, Brandon

Marketing Excellence:

Brandon First – Collaborative Online Marketing Initiative
Potato Truck Pull, Carberry


Skate the Lake Minor Hockey, Minnedosa
Festival Park Project, Brandon Riverbank Inc & City of Brandon
Pelican Lake Healthy Water and Fish Committee & Killarney Lake Action Committee
RM of Yellowhead & Yellowhead Broadband

Service Excellence:

Wayne & Ruth Reiner, Gladstone
Virden Auditorium Theatre
Jackie Nichol, Brandon
Global Market, Brandon
Dirty Lake Outfitters, Minnedosa
Canada Day Celebrations Committee, Virden
Bar Y Meats, Deloraine

Volunteer of the Year:

Barb & Ray Sitter, Brandon
Muriel McPhail, Carberry
Stu Clelland, Deloraine

Award winners will be announced at the Tribute to Tourism Gala being held at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 13th, 2018 at the Gladstone Community Centre. The evening will feature a lovely meal and wine, entertainment by the Pine Creek Players as well as the Awards Ceremony.

For more information or to purchase tickets ($40 + GST), please contact the Tourism Westman office at 1-204-726-1513 or download and complete a registration form (below) and email to info@tourismwestman.ca.

2018 Registration Form